New to the forum!

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

gwenix
New member - welcome them!

New to the forum!

Post by gwenix »

Hi everyone!

I'm gwen, aka "gwenix". I am a middle aged tech worker (DevOps Engineer) who loves to game (board/RPG mostly) and sing (opera), among many other hobbies. I even knit/crochet, which I'm discovering is kinda marvelous given things. I live in the USA, in Pennsylvania (originally from Pittsburgh, but now in the Philly area.)

I'm here because when I was a kid, I was diagnosed with "Eye to Hand Coordination Disability", and had to go through quite a number of exercises to train my brain to be able to do fine motor skill. Like, even holding a pencil was hard! I distinctly remember a teacher trying to "helpfully" coach me on how to best hold a pencil, as though knowing the proper way was the solution to my problem. I still don't write pen and paper much, but my father wisely decided I should learn how to type and how to use a computer, and basically that's why I'm in computers now and type very happily.

Anyway, last night I was suffering from insomnia (happens from time to time) and thought back on that -- I'd never been able to find that disability online as an adult, and thought "maybe it's another name now" and found ... DYSPRAXIA! Maybe y'all have some idea of just how excited I am to have found this. Then I found this forum and it'd be nice to connect with others.