Advice for starting a new job

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

MilkyMan7
New member - welcome them!

Advice for starting a new job

Post by MilkyMan7 »

Hi, I'm 24, and I'm an IT Technician. I'm about to start a new job.

In my last job I struggled in some areas with personal organisation, time management and communication with people when they want something from me or when I'm under pressure. I'm ok with casual conversation, but I sometimes find conversation about what they want harder to understand and when I have to explain things to them this can be a very laboured process for me, and I've had feedback before that my explanations are sometimes confused and not very clear. I also have a tendency to panic when someone asks me for something, especially if it's new to me or it's a complex issue.

The role is very much customer facing, both in person and in helping to resolve technical issues over the phone. My etiquette and attitude towards people are great, I'm very friendly and polite and try to be helpful. This aspect of my communication is not a problem. It's just the above that's the issue.

Has anyone here experienced issues like this before? And if so does anyone have any advice on handling people/customers better?

Thanks
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Advice for starting a new job

Post by Tom fod »

Hi there and welcome

Sorry for slow reply