Recently diagnosed and asking lots of questions!

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

Litz27
New member - welcome them!

Recently diagnosed and asking lots of questions!

Post by Litz27 »

Hi everyone,

I stumbled across this site after doing some research into dyspraxia as I have only been recently diagnosed (I am 22.) My diagnosis is a bit of a difficult situation - I always knew I had my own little quirks and the things I wasnt very good at and wondered why but it was only after a disasterous dance lesson that I was advised by a choreographer to take the test. I was at university at the time studying acting so I was able to have the initial screening for free. The screening showed that I had very strong dispraxic tendancies but in order to have the 'official diagnosis' I had to pay £300! Obviously being a student I wasnt in any position to be able to afford that kind of money so I asked the woman who did the test (not sure what the correct term is!) whether in her honest opinion she thought I was dyspraxic. For legal reasons she couldnt out right state whether I was dyspraxic or not, but she said that in her opinion (25 years experience) there was enough to suggest I was, even from the way I was talking (not being able to get straight to the point and repeating myself a lot.) I also said to her that theoretically if I did take the test and paid all that money and it turned out I wasnt dyspraxic what would she do, and she said she would take me out for a very expensive meal (which I took to mean that she was almost certain of her diagnosis.)

Anyway, the reason I wanted to post on here was just to see if anyone shared any of my symptoms/quirks (not really sure how to put it) and just finally talk to some people that would understand me!