Adapting to new areas of work

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

BecaLindley
Getting settled in

Adapting to new areas of work

Post by BecaLindley »

So I'm a student nurse.
When I'm on a ward, Im fantastic! Last year (as a second year) I was doing everything. People regularly thought I was a final year. :bumps: :bumps:

However, without much choice, I've been placed in a emergency department. Which (unsurprisingly) isn't a a area I'd pick. The range of conditions and the high turn over of patients is just overwhelming to me. People have asked me if Im a first year which is devastating honestly.

Next year, I will be qualifying and able to pick area that works for me. Meanwhile, I need to find new ways to cope.

I guess my question is what techniques can I use in a area without much routine? As my made coping techniques require routine and ability to pre-plan.

Failing that, any moral support would be much appreciated!!
cyram
New member - welcome them!

Re: Adapting to new areas of work

Post by cyram »

I think with anything, it takes a longer time for people with dyspraxia to adapt to a new environment. You may eventually be able to find patterns you can learn and get used to, but it takes time. I can't imagine there being much of that in your situation though. There are some fields/situations that make it especially difficult, and it's probably best to speak with a supervisor, etc to talk things through. There may be things that can be done which can help. The key (in my experience) is to be proactive.