Help work and covid.

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Catann74
New member - welcome them!

Help work and covid.

Post by Catann74 »

Hi- I am a 46 year old nurse- only recently been diagnosed with dyspraxia and dyslexia after staring a uni course.

My job is a nurse educator- give me a room of people and I shine- this obviously does not now happen since covid decided to ruin our lives 😢

The other aspect to my job pre covid was face to face reviews of patients- I loved seeing my patients and making decisions about their treatment.

Now pandemic is here to stay The work I do is over the phone. I will phone them up and discuss their care.

I simply struggle so much- I can’t see the patient, they are just a name on the screen and I feel I am not doing a good job at all- my confidence is so low- this makes the situation a million times worse as my anxiety is through the roof- I don’t have any support from my partner and I can’t chat with anyone to give me the support I crave.

It’s hard to express to anyone how sometimes I just can’t think properly and my mind is so jumbled up- it makes me want to cry with my stupidity- I don’t want to be like this but can’t help it.

Has anyone experienced anything similar and how have they coped?

I worry the colleges must think I am stupid and I am rubbish at my job- the jumble in my head has been exacerbated so much since we went to new workings due to covid.

If the patient was in front of me I don’t have this problem- to a non dyspraxic this would be hard to understand.

I feel I am missing things and worried the net is closing in on me.
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Help work and covid.

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and welcome.

Apologies for delay in responding