Occupational health?

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

PQ85
New member - welcome them!

Occupational health?

Post by PQ85 »

Hi,

I am not sure where to go here... I'm an Occupational Therapist and have been working an a busy acute ward for this past 3 months (recent graduate).
I am having considerable difficulty completing the required number of assessments per day, devising treatment plans, keeping a tab on all the different patients who need seen. I feel completely overwhelmed and stressed out by this.

I had considered 'declaring' my dyspraxia to the employer upon accepting the job but chose not to for 2 reasons:

- I have always been able to 'work around' my difficulties and have developed strategies to cope in work school (where I got reasonable adjustments). However, I find that I am completely lost in this (fairly alien) environment and don't really think my strategies apply.

- My educational psychology report states that 'DCD is probable', I'm not sure if this counts as a diagnosis?

My GP has advised that I go down the occupational health route. However, I just want to be clear in my head if:

- I can be penalised for not having declared previously my 'disability' (I didn't consider it a disability at the time of application, only now, in my current work environment)
- Do I, in fact have dyspraxia? Neither my GP nor the educational psychology report explicitly state that I have dyspraxia (maybe I'm being a bit pedantic here?)... if it helps, it does state that I experience "a range of mild specific learning difficulties".

I appreciate any help/advise you may be able to offer. Thanks! :)
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Occupational health?

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and welcome