~discussion topic~ (c'mon lets talk)

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

Tortoise
Getting settled in

~discussion topic~ (c'mon lets talk)

Post by Tortoise »

Although we are square pegs, is the round hole more of a problem?

Have we been more handicapped by other peoples ignorance and intolerance of differences than by our actually disability?

(hmmm this is a leading question isnt it!!)
Ruth
Power poster

Post by Ruth »

Very interesting question!! on the one hand peoples intoleranca has led me to a poor view of myself - on the other hand it's bloody hard to walk down an unknown staircase without faling down it. So maybe some of both.

And then there's the fact that I get worse when people are intolerant.

If people would just let me get on and do it my way at my speed it's fine now but I've been working hard every day for 30 years to make that the case - cor don't I sound old when I say that.

I shall mull and see what comes out. Very interested to see what you lot think! and pleased I could formulate some sort of opinion.yay me \:D/

lol
fuzzy
Power poster

Post by fuzzy »

Interesting topic!

On a similar note; as a dyspraxic, it is common to be told that dyspraxics generally have poor self esteem. Do you think that because dyspraxics hear this time and time again from the Dyspraxia Foundation site (from stories of fellow sufferers and listings of symptoms), from Educational Physcologists, GPs etc, that perhaps, like many things, it is to a certain extent physcological? This isnt actually my opinion before i get torn to peices; i dunno where i heard it actually; i cant remeber (suprise, suprise)

What du all think? :D
Goodbye, and have a pleasant tommorrow!!
I swear to drunk im not God.....
Tortoise
Getting settled in

Post by Tortoise »