Do I have dyspraxia?

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

sgzmazha
New member - welcome them!

Do I have dyspraxia?

Post by sgzmazha »

Hi everyone :) it's really great to find this forum! I am in my late 20s and I have never been diagnosed but I believe I have dyspraxia (and I think ADHD, I am not sure how co-linked these are). Due to my parents' careers I grew up moving countries etc so never really tried to understand why I was behind others and culturally, my parents would always dismiss any sort of 'non-physical/learning' disabilities. I also come from a family of very high achievers, my parents, cousins, siblings are all highly skilled with awards and doctorates etc and in comparison I am definitely the least qualified in my family. It's easy to dismiss things I struggle with, because to an outsider, I still come across 'successful'. I am not sure I am articulating this well. I am an Engineer, I graduated from a good school and have had a good job since. This to many comes across as 'successful' but I really struggle - I know it takes me a lot longer to do things that comes as natural to my peers and colleagues. And it causes me so much stress. I am now doing my masters. I have found ways to work around my dyspraxia most of my life (and personally I find it has given me great strengths like an ability to organise and visualise things because I can't deal with information so I need to structure it which ends up making anything I do more efficient). I have got through most of my life, especially University etc without a diagnosis but now, more than anything, really want to have better understanding of my limitations and find out how I can make life easier for myself - I would like to get a diagnosis. I also constantly feel frustrated that I am not able to achieve to my potential (I know I can do better because I know my brain but I can't seem to get it across practically). In UK, I am finding this process r