Ironic dyspraxia... as a neuropsychologist

Getting assessed for your dyspraxia, getting help, disability allowance etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Jokuri
New member - welcome them!

Ironic dyspraxia... as a neuropsychologist

Post by Jokuri »

Hello,

I'm a student in neuropsychology and over the course of 4 years of studies I've had multiple classes on developmental coordination disorder (DCD), or dyspraxia. Everytime I study it, there's things that remind me of myself as a child and things that I still do.

I remember that:
- It took me longer than my peers to learn to tie my shoes
- My writing is horrible, and it's gotten better but throughout high school all my teachers constantly made remarks on my writing, one of them even saying "I've never seen writing like that before". Sometimes I can't even read what I wrote. In class I learned that dysgraphia is almost always present in DCD. It gets better if I focus but then my hand aches a bit, and in all cases I feel like I'm slower than others.
- Never really learned how to bike or swim. Biking may be explained by inexperience but I had swimming classes in elementary and high school and I'm ok in the sense that I don't drown, but I feel like my swimming is terrible (swim like a dog)
- I absolutely sucked and still suck at sports, worst of the class. Suffered from a lot of bullying when playing football because I sucked, and I dreaded P.E. class every week. I was almost worst of the class when running also.
- A few years ago had an accident because I fell when running pretty fast. "Burnt" portions of my skin because I fell on gravel. I don't know how but it was like my legs just stopped working.
- In class in college, we had to build a structure with food items in a team. I tried to do something which was completely stupid, it's like I had no sense of construction.