Frustrated and scared

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

RobbieNZ
New member - welcome them!

Frustrated and scared

Post by RobbieNZ »

I have only just found out that I might have dyspraxia and I'm still trying to figure things out. I'm also an Occupational Therapy student who is currently on clinical placement. I'm so frustrated because it's following the same pattern as everything else, up until now everything has been going well. I have spent a long time working on my verbal communication so I'm actually really good at interacting with others. But, when it comes time to sit down and either write down what I know or to have an oral assessment about what I know I can't get the info out of my brain!!! I know that the information is in there but it's locked in and I can't get it across to anyone in a way that they get.
So I get on well with the staff etc but it looks like I don't bother producing any work and I'm scared they all think I'm a lazy slacker but in reality I'm constantly working myself to tears trying to write things down etc but it takes hours to produce even one paragraph and it doesn't even make sense. It's always been like this, I've always been treated like I'm either lazy or just stupid. I'm scared to get an assessment in case I don't have dyspraxia and I am just dumb.

Is this dyspraxia? Is this something other people here experience. One of the most frustrating things this time is that I might have an answer for why it's happening,but no way of making it better.

Please help, I know I'm not stupid and I'm close to giving up because i can't get my brain to work properly.
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Frustrated and scared

Post by Tom fod »

Hi Robyn