Hello, and difficulties with structure!!!

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

Alice in wonderland
New member - welcome them!

Hello, and difficulties with structure!!!

Post by Alice in wonderland »

Hi everyone,

Firstly, did anyone else struggle with the registration? I felt like it was a test to tell if I was really dyspraxic - choose the 7th number?! It took me about 5 attempts to get it right.

I am currently doing my PhD (Psychology) and am really struggling with structuring my thesis. I write and write according to what I think is a structure, and afterwards I realise I am completely lost.

I was diagnosed when I was at school (17) I am now 37 - and studying in South Africa. Few people seem to know what dyspraxia is and why it is a problem.

Any other postgraduate students with dyspraxia? Do you face similar challenges? What are your strategies for structuring essays or theses? I'd love to hear from you.

Alice
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Hello, and difficulties with structure!!!

Post by Tom fod »

Hi Alice

So long since I joined here I don't remember how I got through that bit. Anyway welcome. I'm afraid I don't remember ever having specific lessons on structure and I left formal schooling at 18 and did a vocational Business Admin course. All I can suggest is reading and searching by keyword on here and the wider web and consulting any guidelines your college/university produce re preferred structure. I'd perhaps create a skeleton plan so that you can plan what bits go in what section. creating a list of source references is likely another onerous task and whilst at least we have word processing apps sometimes putting the bare bones order on paper in front of you can help you in deciding what should go where.

We do have another person in or with connections to South Africa see http://www.dyspraxicadults.org.uk/forum ... 4&sr=posts.