Difficulties adjusting to a manual car.

Learning to drive, driving, and using public transport

Moderator: Moderator Team

RTK
New member - welcome them!

Difficulties adjusting to a manual car.

Post by RTK »

Hi,

Background: I've been driving for over 4 years now and have a fair bit of experience of covering around 25,000 miles since I got my first car. I learned and passed in a manual car.

Over the years I have also had 4 cars, my first broke down within a year due to a head gasket fault. I then had a Fiat Panda which was a good car however after 2 years looked around out of interest at upgrading and I did.

However this third car was electric and for me my first automatic, unfortunately after a year I was having too many issues with charging it on long trips.

I did initially look at just automatic petrol cars to swap to as I couldn't afford a longer range electric (the one I had was at a low price point and sold for more than I paid.

I tried a couple but as they were bigger I wasn't sure, in the end I test drove a manual and thought it was right. It was actually an extremely close match in size and shape and feature wise fairly similar.

But since then I constantly doubt my driving specifically as if I notice the gear changes more, I thought I'd get used to it again but after 2 months don't seem to.

My family say my driving is perfectly fine and I don't know if partially it's either more doubting myself when it is fine. Or if I notice the concentration required for manual is more now.

The issue is I didn't doubt myself before when driving manual and felt it was something that I had overcome well (I wasn't actually aware dyspraxia could affect it and I didn't get diagnosed fully until after passing but at the time all I had driven was manuals).

For long distance it's OK as it has cruise control, but I notice it more around town in traffic.