I never thought I'd 'get' it - but I just passed my test. Thoughts for other learners inside. [Automatic - UK]

Learning to drive, driving, and using public transport

Moderator: Moderator Team

MrLiquorish
Getting settled in

I never thought I'd 'get' it - but I just passed my test. Thoughts for other learners inside. [Automatic - UK]

Post by MrLiquorish »

Hi all,

I've been hoping for a while that I'd be able to share this post with you all, and try to share what I've found helpful on my journey (no pun intended) of learning to drive. I hope the below contains some useful information, and anyone who wishes to is welcome to ask as many questions as they like.

After having manual lessons with a relative a few years ago (which fizzled out mostly due to issues with the car) I decided to start learning again. The car, by the way, was pretty old and very basic, with some mechanical issues also, which didn't help!

Before starting practical lessons again, I studied for and passed my Theory lessons and then began to look for an instructor.

Deciding to Learn Automatic

The thought of learning in a manual filled me with a low-level sense of dread, whereas the thought of learning in an automatic filled me with excitement. Some people were not very encouraging of learning in an automatic, making arguments for learning in a manual. I was also worried that some people might think it 'lesser' to learn in an automatic.

Ultimately, I realised that actually it would be more courageous to go in the face of these negative views and do what I knew was right for me (and learn in an automatic) than it would be to learn in a manual just because of what other people might think. I also had an email exchange with a friendly manual driving instructor who put to rest some worries and after hearing what I had to say, was encouraging of my desire to learn automatic.

A couple of common arguments are:

ONE - If you pass automatic, you'll only be able to drive an automatic car