Sharing advice for coping strategies

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

pomo
Getting settled in

Sharing advice for coping strategies

Post by pomo »

Hi everyone,

I am new to the site and really having a tough time dealing with my dyspraxia at the moment. I am a trained teacher in my probation year. I teach secondary education maths and pe.

The fact that I can teach pe is suprising obviously, but typically dyspraxics are determined and that why I have succeeded here, However, seeing how my determination is being defeated in my current role as dyspraxia is consuming my hoped for career, I thought it would be a nice idea to share any coping strategies people may have for certain dyspraxic issues.

One strategy I have is to ensure that I do lots of regular exercise to keep my body toned and my mind clear. Repetitive movements become easier with practise, running machines have emergency stops and gyms have instructors who can support you.

In addition, not that I have the time for it at the moment, but yoga also firms and improves control of body parts.

Look forward to any posts

Pompom
Liz944
Super poster

Re: Sharing advice for coping strategies

Post by Liz944 »

Hi

Welcome to the forum!
Drama is life with the dull bits cut out...
Lucy_Rush
Power poster

Post by Lucy_Rush »

welcome to the forum
turnergirl
New member - welcome them!

Post by turnergirl »

Hi.

I find swimming the best form of exercise for me as, like many Dyspraxics, I suffer from weak muscle tone and joint instability. Swimming is great as the water supports your body weight, reducing the strain on your joints.