Going into town as a group and approaching people.

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

Little Miss Anxious
Power poster

Going into town as a group and approaching people.

Post by Little Miss Anxious »

hat is the right way to approach people and how I get myself in a social group?

I am a 25 year old mature student on a 3 year programme in Galway college. It is my first year.

I enjoy music, learning, reading and going out watching movies and just chilling out.

I say hello to people sitting beside me during lectures and change the places where I seat but nothing comes out of it. I have asked them what they think of the course etc and may even have made some jokes or just got kinda Witty. some fellas who I did that to responded in a positive way.

I have given my email to some and given my mobile number to some.

Nobody wanted to get to know me in my tutorials.

I am nervous around people I don't know and when making friends.

I would like some like minded friends in their 20s or early 30s who are doing one or more of my subjects and are in my year.

in a few societies I went to there were only 2nd and third year and many were not even doing my subjects.

Most people tend to be already in a group and many people seem to know people from secondary school or another course.

I am getting no attention from men either which doesn't usually happen.

One man who is older than me has suggested that I engage with people in order to make friends but I do do that. A college service worker suggested that I just ask them to hang out on the first time I meet them and maybe even ask them for their number on the first time I meet them.