Problem at new job, help?

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Aizawa
New member - welcome them!

Problem at new job, help?

Post by Aizawa »

So briefly about me: I’m 27 and I have Dyslexia, Visual Stress and Dyspraxia. I was diagnosed at 22. So I’m new at my current job which is at a cinema. My manager scheduled me to work at a different area which is serving food/drinks to customers. I was meant to work alone but I kept on leaving the area to ask for help - even though I was previously given a group training with colleagues who had already been trained in the area. Anyways my mind went blank and I noticed some of my colleagues direct a crowd of people towards me, as I was serving other customers. I kept on making incorrect orders, I messed up food and drinks several times and had to deal with rude costumers on my own. I Became an absolute nervous wreck and I kept holding back my tears but I kept on trembling. I didn’t remember important tasks, I kept dropping things and all sorts of clumsiness happened.

I actually cried in front of EVERYONE! and a kind customer told me not worry.

It was a lot to take in, I felt overwhelmed. I left the area after asking colleague to cover for me. Afterwards, I had a 1-2-1 with the manager, I apologised and said how I felt. Now I can’t face my colleagues of my job. The problem was I didn’t speak up beforehand to notify my manager that I wasn’t confident in working in that area and I hadn’t disclosed my dyspraxia or dyslexia at interview stage. I really want to quit my job even though I started recently. because all the colleagues were staring at me as if I was a nutter. I’m a loner, I only speak to a few people in my work place.