Feeling Uncomfortable

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

BobMcLily
New member - welcome them!

Feeling Uncomfortable

Post by BobMcLily »

Hi there,
This is my first time posting, I found this forum as I was looking for advice.

I have DCD and have known since I was 7. It's caused some work problems before.

I recently lost the iPad I use as a substitute for Pad and paper (I loose a lot of things, I am told this is part of DCD, does anyone else still regularly loose things?)

Work did not provide this iPad, so when it came to a replacement I thought I would request one for Work only purposes to save me loosing my work device.

My boss asked for me to put an email to her in writing for the request, which I did. Later she asked for me to go into further detail to send over to the ICT Support Manager to order the device. I did and went beyond what you can google into the details of how it actually effects me.

Yesterday at a weekend work event (which are fairly rare) my boss informed me that the ICT support manager had forwarded this to three colleagues. Two of these colleagues I am unsure if they need to know, especially if need to know that personal level of detail. My boss raised this with our Director when she found out and the director suspects this qualifies as a Data Breach because I wasn't aware how colleagues were viewing this personal information and it wasn't being used exactly for the purposes needed.

Separately, HR, who do need to know and I don't mind knowing, (already disclosed to them) are suggesting that I go for an OT assessment.

So my questions are:
1. Should I raise that I am upset my details were shared in that way? I said it was fine at the time but the more I think about this the more upset I am.

2. Should I comply with the OT assessment? I have evidence of Dyspraxia/DCD diagnosis (one when I was a child, another a few years ago as an adult).