Help! Saying "no" to overtime

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Monique
New member - welcome them!

Help! Saying "no" to overtime

Post by Monique »

Hey guys, apologies in advance for the long wall of text lol. I need your advice and a bit of courage!

A bit of background - I work in retail as a supervisor for 3 days a week with a small team of 8 people. I really enjoy it and my colleagues are awesome, but it's immensely draining on my mental and physical health, as I have fibromyalgia and general anxiety disorder as well as dyspraxia. The days I have off are my recovery times for the chronic pain and mental exhaustion. Also in my spare time, I'm an artist with exhibitions to prepare for and an art youtube channel to run. It's practically a second job and I spend probably 15-30 hours a week working on art stuff on top of my part time job.

Anyway, one of my full-time colleagues in the management team was ill for a very long time last year and I was covering both his shifts and mine for nearly 5 months. I'm contracted to work 17 hours and I was working 37 to 40 hours a week for most of it! I'm not sure how I got through it but by the end of it I was feeling very burned out and my art career fell by the wayside for a long time because of it. It's still affecting me even now.

This week, he fell ill again, and likely won't be back for weeks if not months. In addition, my work friend, who I'm pretty close to, walked out yesterday because the manager upset her. She won't be coming back (my colleague called me yesterday to explain everything to me). She's blocked all calls from the store and manager, and unfriended everyone except me on facebook. The only person who knows why she walked out is me.