Marriage and Employment

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

eYh
Getting settled in

Marriage and Employment

Post by eYh »

Hi

First time posting but I've been reading these forums for over three years to help me with my dyspraxic boyfriend- now husband. I think overall we have a very happy life together and wanted to make a bit of an "ask me anything" post. I may have questions for you as well because I'm the non dyspraxic half.

We got married on world literacy day in the local library because he's chairman of the board and I am a writer. We became friends online, met four months later and been together almost four years now. :banana:

He moved from England To Canada to be with me and we've finally gotten the permanent residence status for him. \:D/ Life looks great. :bumps: How can I best support him as he looks for work after three years of not being able to (because his status was only visit here).

Thanks,

Y
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Marriage and Employment

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and welcome Y

I've moved this into work as I feel the purpose of this post better fits within this category.

You haven't what sort of work your husband is planning to look for hoping to find, what expectations he has and what qualifications and UK-based employment experience he can draw on? The fact he's chairman of a board does suggests he has some management skills?

Has he made any job applications yet or created a resume/CV to send to prospective employers? Has he thought about how he will explain his strengths and weaknesses and what if any support he might want to ask an employer for or what he might choose to tell them about his dyspraxia?

Do you or he have any specific concerns?
Tom
Moderator/Administrator

With a foot full of bullets I tried to run faster but I just hobbled on to the next disaster.
(from Peter and the Test Tube Babies, Foot Full of Bullets)
eYh
Getting settled in