Any tips for maintaining focus and concentration

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Some Sam
New member - welcome them!

Any tips for maintaining focus and concentration

Post by Some Sam »

Hi all,

I was diagnosed with dyspraxia quite young and have always been able to manage. Whilst I have a touch of most of the symptoms considered dyspraxic, I particularly struggle with concentration, focus and this one from the dyspraxia foundation website:

"Slow to finish a task. May daydream and wander about aimlessly"

I work as a programmer and as a general rule, I enjoy it (I really enjoy programming in my own time, too). I'm not unintelligent - I've been able to demonstrate, to myself, if nothing else - a technical knowledge on a par with those I work with. But I feel as though I'm letting the side down.

I didn't declare my disability (something I'm partly regretting now) when I started because it usually ends up in the company giving me extra-support chairs and rainbow-coloured keyboards without asking if it'll help and then being frustrated when I don't want them (because I don't need them). My acute co-ordination is quite good and keyboards like that just add a learning curve.

I feel if I tell them, they'll support me and keep me on but will then not hire the next person like me to apply because "why should we pay them the same if they're only achieving 85% of the work?" I know it's not my job to worry about the next person, but yeah.

So, my quality of work is fine, but my quantity is not. Whilst they haven't expressed a big concern (I'm just a bit slower than other people), they have said that I'm slower than other people and I put the fact that they haven't made an too much of an issue of it down to my manager being a nice guy.

I often find myself distracted by the world around me, the internet, or day-dreaming blankly at the screen.