Declaring disability

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Jo-
Getting settled in

Declaring disability

Post by Jo- »

Hi all,

I just wanted to ask a question with regard to declaring disability on a job application. I recently applied for a job, I have had no reply and have been assuming that I was unsuccessful, but it has occurred to me that I declared my disability - dyspraxia and dyscalculia (also fibromyalgia) on the application and I was thinking that this should mean that they are obliged to interview me because of this. When I check online I get the message that the application is still under review but it has been a month since I submitted it. Should I contact them to ask what the situation is?

I am currently studying for an MSc with the university where this position is and it was also there that I was diagnosed just coming up to a year ago. The job is for graduate tutor position and PhD research so it may be a stretch - I'm not assuming I'll get it however I was thinking that if you declare yourself as disabled then they at least have to interview you - any thoughts or advice would be very welcome.

Many thanks, Jo
Jim
Super poster

Re: Declaring disability

Post by Jim »

I don't think they have to interview you, but as long as you meet the minimum requirements they might consider interviewing you when they may otherwise wouldn't have.

It's a bit of a folly really, just a meaningless recruitment trick designed to make it look like they take 'equal opportunities' seriously. But in reality it changes nothing. Although personally I'd still disclose any disability on the application, that way they're aware from the beginning and any reasonable adjustments could be organised easier.