Struggling with new job.

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Captain_Ludd
Power poster

Struggling with new job.

Post by Captain_Ludd »

Hi All,

I recently got my degree in software engineering and out of the blue via a friend that works at a software development company I was asked to go and have a chat about a position they had going.
Basically they had been looking for some experienced in a set of programming languages and had not been able to get anyone, my friend had mentioned that I had just finished my degree and that I may have some experience using the languages, which I do but I'm by no means an expert.
I told them that although I had worked in the languages I was by no means an expert and wasn't sure I would be right for the job without a few months of hitting the books first.
Underrated by this they offered me a trial period (which I only really took because the money was good not expecting to get the job) and I was offered the job, I initially actual turned them down because I wasn't sure I was ready but after some persuasion I accepted there offer now I'm wondering if I've made the right move.
There only a small company and have never had to train any body before (they've always just head hunted experienced people) and I've basically been kinda dropped in at the deep end, with some help from a couple of colleges and I've I'm more and more just getting swamped and having to ask for help all the time and its really stressing me out.
On the one hand the people are great and its a brilliant opportunity that may never come around again but on the other I'm feeling completely out of my depth and despite there best efforts I'm going backwards.
I just don't know whats best to do, I've already been totally honest with them (including about my dyspraxia) and they don't seem bothered, but the time will come when stuff isn't happening and it will back fire on me.