Practical skills

Discussions relating to jobs and working, including finding work, interviews, the work place etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

sarahlovie1
New member - welcome them!

Practical skills

Post by sarahlovie1 »

I'm a relatively newly qualified nurse (qualified Oct last year) and currently work in mental health nursing on the nurse bank (did try a couple of permanent nursing homes, one in a care home and one on a ward, but struggled both with practical skills and with time management and prioritising, which I found very difficult). I'm OK on bank shifts if in a ward which is not old age (no problems with chatting to patients, continuous observations, medication rounds or admissions), but I panic on old age wards as it takes me ages to get to grips with practical things, which has caused some exasperation among some of my colleagues. In particular I struggle with personal care, catheter care, moving and handling and dressings (although only had one class on dressings at university). I am concerned that I will make a big mistake one day, and am thinking about asking the nurse bank co-ordinator only to send me to non-old-age wards (although I love the contact with the patients, it's the skills that defeat me). What would any of you advise me to do? Many thanks in advance. Great to be part of this forum, hopefully we can all help each other. I haven't been diagnosed with dyspraxia, but have many of the symptoms -poor co-ordination and manual dexterity, problems organising and prioritising workload, and remembering sequences for practical tasks. A few of my colleagues have said things like "you should know how to do these things, you're trained", and "have a bit of sense". I feel nursing is my career of choice, but not sure how good I am at it.
AlleyCat
Power poster

Re: Practical skills

Post by AlleyCat »