Dancing

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

DyspraxicPhilip
New member - welcome them!

Dancing

Post by DyspraxicPhilip »

Hey! I don’t know if any dyspraxic relates to this. I do performing arts for a living and i’m currently at a musical theatre class. When we have to dance, no girls picked me. We have about 8 boys and 18 girls. We had new boys start tonight and they picked them over me. Along with girls picking girls. I just feel left out, usually one of the staff people have to dance with me. and my confidence/anxiety starts playing up because of this. I know this seems stupid but it makes me feel like I did something wrong.
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Dancing

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and welcome

I can relate to this as I would also feel left out. Dancing has never been my thing and whilst I hate it with a passion being left out like this still hurts..

Would you say it stems from a ack of confidece in your dancing? Could some extra time pre learning and practising the steps so you aren't/don't feel as awkward help?
Tom
Moderator/Administrator

With a foot full of bullets I tried to run faster but I just hobbled on to the next disaster.
(from Peter and the Test Tube Babies, Foot Full of Bullets)
Jim1983
Getting settled in

Post by Jim1983 »