Not very dyspraxic talents

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

ichiban-no-hime
Getting settled in

Not very dyspraxic talents

Post by ichiban-no-hime »

I've been practicing drawing manga for 10 years now, so I'm quite good at it, and people are always quite surprised that I can draw so well with my dyspraxia, especially when they've seen my handwriting!
Does anyone else have any talents that they're surprised they can do?
OneClumsyDragon
Getting settled in

Re: Not very dyspraxic talents

Post by OneClumsyDragon »

I'm a guitarist and also an artist like yourself!
Here's a link to my portfolio: https://www.behance.net/sarahbethbradley
All the secrets of the world are contained in books. Read at your own risk.
ssuma

Post by ssuma »

ichiban-no-hime wrote:I've been practicing drawing manga for 10 years now, so I'm quite good at it, and people are always quite surprised that I can draw so well with my dyspraxia, especially when they've seen my handwriting!
Does anyone else have any talents that they're surprised they can do?
I too draw abstract art and cartoons very well. But really sucks at copying. In fact, as a kid, I sometimes pissed teachers off for adding things into "their pictures". Ultimately, they appreciated my "creativity" and won quite few contests as a child.

I honestly think there is something in dyslexics/dyspraxics that cause the development of new art forms, making us very good in art styles such as abstract arts and cartoons. I always suspected Vincent Van Gogh is an undiagnosed dyspraxic and his supposed madness is indirectly caused by it. And I heard Picasso and Andy Warhol are dyslexics.