Unsure

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

pixie
New member - welcome them!

Unsure

Post by pixie »

Hi,

I'm new to this so apologies if this is not the correct place for my post...

For a long time I have wanted to do dancing but my family weren't so keen on it because of the co-ordination/balance problems. I am now at university and would really like to join the dance club, again, family says no I shouldn't, BUT I would really like to do it. I have several doubts though because I don't want to look like an idiot in front of people. My family keep saying I should go and meet people and do something I enjoy and I would really like to meet new people but I don't know what to do.

Has anyone any suggestions?

*Sorry if it sounds rather garbled 8-[
david456
Power poster

Post by david456 »

Hi Pixie,

Welcome to the forum. I'm 19 years of age and can really relate to what you are saying. My parents always want me to go and meet new people and make new friends. I'm quite shy you see and only have about 2 people I see.

I have particually few female friends. Again as I am quite shy.

I'm OK if someone starts a conversaton, It's just the initial bit I'm rubbish at.

As a guy, it was tough with balance and coordination, I could never dance well at school.

If you enjoy dance, go to a couple of sessions. What's the worst that could happen. If it's for you it will happen. You could always explain the situation to the teacher before hand to get some extra help if needs be.

Hope this helps.
pixie
New member - welcome them!

Post by pixie »

Thank you, it's good to know I'm not the only one O:)
Daniel
Administrator

Post by Daniel »

Hi Pixie,