I had a breakthrough!

A place to talk about your experience of living with Dyspraxia

Moderator: Moderator Team

Starduster
Getting settled in

I had a breakthrough!

Post by Starduster »

I hope it lasts.
I'm new on here. I'm studying Architecture and Planning and have failed the Design Studio twice! Everyone's been saying or not verbalizing their opinions that I should go and do something else, but I've been stubborn and I'm still on the course.

My difficulty is with drawing. I didn't know how much difficulty I had till I started learning this course. I've tried learning but nothing is really happened and good drawers just say practice if you complain. I've been really desperate and trying to figure out how to learn. It's

This post is not entirely about uni which is why I've put in here.
Anyway, there's not a lot of research about drawing and teaching people how to draw, most drawing books and classes I've come across assume a lot of stuff about drawing and basically those who learn are those who can think like the people teaching to draw. So I've been doing tons of research. Drawing is not just practice. I've discovered that there are different ways the brain processes drawing. There's writing and simple patterns in one part, and drawing from memory and still life in another part of the brain. I've seen books that say if you can write you can draw, which is not necessarily true, they are processed differently in the brain. The books and teachers are just focusing on hand movement.