A teaching dyspraxic

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Teach
New member - welcome them!

A teaching dyspraxic

Post by Teach »

Hey there all. I'm a teacher and have been for quite some time. I discovered I had dyspraxia as an adult while working with an ed phyc.
I'm struggling with my own sense of failure about my ability to do things like learn the piano and stay organised as a mother. I have been struggling with my jaw clenching and grinding for my entire life, (not sure of that's dyspraxia). But it's got so bad recently.

My dyspraxia is essentially the balance (glass sided escalators anyone?) And organisation and retaining information given to me verbally.
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: A teaching dyspraxic

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and welcome

It's rather a nebulous condition and it can be hard to separate what is symptomatic or simply our response to the stress it causes us.

It often affects working memory/organisation of thought as well as sequencing of fine and/or gross motor control and sense of balance and proprioception.

I find I stress a lot of getting things perfect, which I'd categorise as an unsustainable coping strategy to try to make sure people can't find fault. Problem is, whilst they may not, I certainly would!

I have ground my teeth in past but currently i'm fortunate to be on a relatively even keel for me.

Hope forums help but do look.out www.dyspraxialifemagazine.co.uk
Tom
Moderator/Administrator

With a foot full of bullets I tried to run faster but I just hobbled on to the next disaster.
(from Peter and the Test Tube Babies, Foot Full of Bullets)
HannahSarah
New member - welcome them!

Post by HannahSarah »

Hi

I’m doing a PGCE Secondary after a career teaching in FE. I’ve only just been diagnosed too, and understand the frustrations that you have and share the same sort of experiences.

Would you declare Dyspraxia on a job application? I’m a bit scared to in case it effects my chances.