Hi!

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Translator
New member - welcome them!

Hi!

Post by Translator »

Hi

I'm not sure if I should be here because I've never been diagnosed with dyspraxia but I just couldn't help it, I had to know if this is the thing that keeps holding me back or not... I'm a student who lives in Belgium. For years, I had this theory that there was something wrong with me. My theory was that I couldn't do the things that other kids could and it felt as if there was nothing I could do about it. Today I'm 21 years old and I still feel as if I can't do it all. As a kid I could never catch/throw a ball but I was also pretty bad at other sports. It took me a long time before I learned how to ride a bike and when I did, the bike had to be "special". Until today my bike has to be low enough for me to be able to fully touch the ground with my feet, othersly, I can't ride it. It also took me 5 years to learn how to swim. It felt as if I totally KNEW how to swim but I simply couldn't do it. I refused to swim for a couple of years because I was a teen and I felt ugly but when I finally felt the courage to swim again a month ago, my technique was not amazing and it felt as if I couldn't move forward. But the one thing that really drives me crazy today is my driver's license. Ever since I was about 20 years old I've been trying to get a driver's license and I still don't have it. All my friends and family are driving me crazy because I'm really feeling the pressure. People are laughing at me and they are wondering how I'm still not driving...

So even though I have never been diagnosed with dyspraxia, somewhere deep down I'm convinced that being a member of this forum could help me overcome some difficulties.
Is it okay if I stay?
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Hi!

Post by Tom fod »

Hi and a very warm welcome. Of course you can stay