Hello - Im a builder and a climber with dyspraxia

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

mortarmonster
New member - welcome them!

Hello - Im a builder and a climber with dyspraxia

Post by mortarmonster »

Hello all
I'm 58 years old, with a PhD, yet I often have to ask my husband to tie my shoe laces or to open things for me. I've only just discovered that there's a name for the way I am!

At school I was good with both numbers and language, but couldn't learn to tell the time, or manage to remember my things. We actually got tested in school when I was 10, and I had the vocabulary of a 15-yr old, but the motor skills of a 5-yr old! In secondary school, the “punishment” for forgetting sports things was to do extra maths; it seemed to take them a very long time to work out that I enjoyed maths, so I would happily sit and solve quadratic equations for an hour...

To this day my short-term memory is terrible, my spatial intelligence subnormal, and I'm always breaking things.

But I have done a couple of things in my life that maybe you wouldn't expect of someone with dyspraxia, and that I think have helped a lot.
Firstly, I have worked all my adult life in construction. In spite of my poor hand-eye co-ordination and my difficulty with reading drawings. I struggled a lot to understand 2-dimensional representations of complex 3-dimensional objects, but in the end I managed to do it well enough to get by. And I think that doing this, rather than only 'playing to my strengths' has improved my skills in that way.