Diagnosed Last Week

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Lou S
New member - welcome them!

Diagnosed Last Week

Post by Lou S »

Hello everyone,

I am a twenty-six year old student police officer near the end of my training. Just over a month ago I had an assessment because one of my tutors pointed out that they thought I might be dyscalculic or dyslexic. This was because I was having some issues with numbers ie. getting phone numbers in the wrong order when copying them out and also more embarrassing stuff like screwing up call signs over the the radio even when I had it written on my hand. "Erm, papa, llama, 7,4, somthing to Control???"
I had had my own suspicions that there had been something holding me back (for want of a better term) for a long time. I've always been disorganised, prone to knocking stuff over or walking into things I knew were there, chronically late and although I would say I don't have a bad general sense of direction and don't get lost often, when I do get lost I do it in style and have absolutely no idea how I've ended up where I've ended up. But, I had always allowed myself to be talked out of getting tested by well meaning family members who, because I had always done well in school, said I couldn't have anything wrong with me. However I decided to go for this one and I'm glad I did.
I turns out that I'm not dyscalculic (which is good because that is awkward to even pronounce) and not dyslexic either although I do have some dyslexic tendencies. I am however dyspraxic and that was a surprise because while I had just about heard of it I had never considered that it might describe me. The more I read about it though the more I realise that it does just that and better than anything else I thought I might have. Even down to things like walking around on my tip-toes all the time as a kid (Still do it now when no one is looking.) and florescent lights making me sleepy.