Old face returns to the forum (warning: long post!)

Introduce yourself here, a bit about you and your interests.

Moderator: Moderator Team

melvin1990
Getting settled in

Old face returns to the forum (warning: long post!)

Post by melvin1990 »

Hi, I’m Alex, and I’m twenty-two, from the North West of England. I’m a recent history graduate, and hope in the future either to become a teacher or to join the police.

As I mentioned, I graduated with a BA (Hons) in History about a year and a half ago. I’ve been a diagnosed dyspraxic since the age of four. In fact one of my strongest childhood memories is of going in a MRI scanner, or “washing machine” as it’s always been jokingly referred to by our family, to have the diagnosis confirmed.

Had a teaching assistant from Year 6 of primary school to leaving Sixth Form in Year 13, five years ago, which helped a lot. Wasn’t expected to do very well when it came to my GCSE’s, but passed with an A, two Bs and several C Grades. Without wishing to sound too big-headed, I’ve always been very proud of that, as well as my degree.

My main problems with dyspraxia are my poor motor skills, which cause me to be incredibly clumsy, constantly tripping up, bashing into things and the like. Also have great difficulty in completing what should be relatively simple tasks, such as tying shoelaces and scruffy handwriting.

I also have problems with Maths, and have my suspicions that this is down to Dyscalculia rather than Dyspraxia, but haven’t had an official diagnosis so can’t really say.

One thing I have found quite interesting is that my reading age was always rather high as a child, and have often wondered if this was perhaps a compensation for my poor maths skills, would be interested to hear if anyone else has had a similar experience.

I have grown up with dyspraxia and I count it as part of me now, so have no qualms about people asking questions about it, so feel free if there’s something you want to know.