Do I have Dyspraxia/Motor skills issues?

Getting assessed for your dyspraxia, getting help, disability allowance etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

tak88
New member - welcome them!

Do I have Dyspraxia/Motor skills issues?

Post by tak88 »

First of all, I don't even necessarily think I have dyspraxia...per se, but I'm starting to think I have some sort of motor skills problem. Also, before anyone suggests it, I am currently without ANY health insurance and cannot afford to go to a doctor or Occupational Therapist of any sort for a proper diagnosis, but I just want some input here first.

I'm 27 and recently lost my job at an animal shelter because my dog handling skills weren't up to par. This is humiliating because I am a certified dog trainer and have been around dogs and owned them and walked them since I was about 4. But the problem is that I'm just not good at manipulating the leashes and collars, getting the dogs to walk on one side of me, lassoing the dogs in cages, and controlling my body well enough to not move quickly or awkwardly to scare the fearful ones or set off dangerous ones. The worst part is...I KNOW how to do it. If you ask me how to do these things I'll explain it well, but I just struggle to actually do it. Often I would feel myself doing something wrong, and desperately try to do it right, but just fail, often feeling like I couldn't get my body to do what I wanted, or not being sure of where/what my body was doing. I very often feel (and have been told) that there is a disconnect between what I know and what I do.