Could therapy for dyspraxia help with these things

Getting assessed for your dyspraxia, getting help, disability allowance etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

sandwiches5000
Getting settled in

Could therapy for dyspraxia help with these things

Post by sandwiches5000 »

Hi there. I have not been diagnosed with dyspraxia but I recently got re-assessed for ADHD for an exam and based on what I've read in terms of the diagnostic criteria, I am pretty sure I have it. I was going to just move on and forget about it since I already get accommodations for tests for having ADHD.

Yesterday, I had to watch a video of myself arguing for class (I'm a law student). I realized how I have trouble enunciating my words (something my mom always yelled at me about) and how I stand/move my body awkwardly at times. I have known this for a long time but just attributed these things to my own awkwardness. However, I would really like to get some sort of training or therapy to get better at these things, as it is relevant to my career... Is this a form of therapy that is offered for people with dypraxia? I seriously don't know anything about this because it's not well known where I live. Also, I have had a lot of trouble with a fork and knife my whole life and at business dinners I can only order a few items and barely eat anything because I'm so embarrassed/nervous that I will eat sloppily. Is this something I could get help with if I were to be diagnosed?

All of these things are equally bad on my medication/off, so I don't think it's my ADHD.

Just trying to see if it's worth getting a diagnosis since I'm almost done with school.

Thanks.
Tom fod
Administrator

Re: Could therapy for dyspraxia help with these things

Post by Tom fod »

Hi