struggling with new job, think I may have dyspraxia

Getting assessed for your dyspraxia, getting help, disability allowance etc.

Moderator: Moderator Team

purplepenguin
New member - welcome them!

struggling with new job, think I may have dyspraxia

Post by purplepenguin »

Hi guys
I am new to the forum. I have been looking at lots of info about dyspraxia recently as I am really struggling and work and think I may have dyspraxia. I am a newly qualified teacher (age 25) and I am doing badly in my first job. I find it very hard to organise in every way: the kids, resources, the classroom, my time. I am working constantly but my head says she is not seeing the results. I have always had problems with organising myself and always worked right up to the deadline at uni, struggle with filing and locating information. I have always been mildy clumsy and have struggled with fine motor skills such as using a cork screw, but non of these things have affected my life singificantly and I have always been able to get by. I have always thoguht of myslef as having bad visual skills, bad sense of direction, but good auditory skills. It's only now that I am having difficulties that I have thought back to all of these things from the past and put them together. They have never been a major issue before (apart from annoying my bofriend) but stress and a busy schedule seem to be making things worse. The problem at the moment is that I don't know if I do have dyspraxia and if I mention it at school they will think I am making excuses for my poor performance.
Thanks for reading. Advice from others who have had experienced similar would be useful :)
screengreen
Power poster

Re: struggling with new job, think I may have dyspraxia

Post by screengreen »