dressing smart. aarrrrggghhh!

Cooking, finances, shopping and any regular tasks that are challenging

Moderator: Moderator Team

Evasura
Power poster

dressing smart. aarrrrggghhh!

Post by Evasura »

OK, maybe American fellows can help here, as you have more tradition of these things:
So, I am a teacher and my friend has invited me to a graduate ball in his school. He's told me that I have to dress smart like for a ball. He's said that I have to dress very smart. Does that mean that I have to wear a long night dress? I cannot see myself in that outfit. Every time I think about it I imagine myself getting all messed up with the dressed, tripping over, spilling drinks on it, and any other messy stuff. Also, that would have to go with high heel shoes! I can't walk on high hills. Again, I'll trip over and my ankles tend to twist even with flat shoes, so imagine with high shoes... Also, my feet are awful, very wide and nearly flat, so sandals are a no-no. Just the idea makes myself of a man in a woman's costume. Fun for a Mr. bean sketch, but not for the plus 1 of a Head of Department. What do dyspraxic girls wear in those balls? I had thought about wearing smart skinny black trousers with a tail jacket and a silver top. Very extravagant, but at least I'll feel relatively comfortable. Is that allowed? My friend is not sure as he is aspergers, so not very good with social etiquette and also he's never been to a ball, so he's not sure either. Any advise appreciated. Thanx
Eva in London
agsiul
Power poster

Re: dressing smart. aarrrrggghhh!

Post by agsiul »