My coping strategies - what are yours?

Cooking, finances, shopping and any regular tasks that are challenging

Moderator: Moderator Team

hannah_2010
New member - welcome them!

My coping strategies - what are yours?

Post by hannah_2010 »

Hello, this is my first post and I'm sure there have been tons like this before, but in case anyone else is relatively new & doesn't mind going over old territory, I'd really like to share coping strategies I've found and hear about yours. I am a 28 year old writer, also studying art, and was diagnosed very recently after years of struggling with organisational skills.

Here are a few things I've found helpful recently. I would really love to hear yours!

Telling the truth
Until someone first suggested that my difficulties might be the result of a disorder rather than just laziness, I was so ashamed that I used to do my best to disguise or deny my problems. One thing that is perhaps really small but I've found hugely helpful is just being honest about my limitations. A small example: when people eg hold out their wine glasses expecting me to fill them at a party or whatever, which sends me into a mild panic about spilling, now I just say "Oh I'll probably just spill it, it's better if you do it yourself" and hand over the bottle. Does anyone else find that this is helpful?

One or two tasks is enough
Because of my fear of my own laziness/easily distractedness, I tend to massively overbook myself, so I'll set up like 10 things to do in one day and then beat myself up for failing to get even two or three done. I'm slowwwwly realising that one or two tasks -- by 'tasks' I mean everything from 'buy groceries' to 'visit gallery' -- is usually enough to take up a whole day. I think because of having to invent mad skillz to deal with being a bit behind everyone else, dyspraxics often try to overreach themselves like this, does anyone else relate to that?

Giving myself a break