Numeracy tests for teaching and social worker courses

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

catwoman
Getting settled in

Numeracy tests for teaching and social worker courses

Post by catwoman »

Dear all.
Im on a mission to make numeracy tests more accesible for dyspraxic students. they are now part of an entrance course for teaching and social work courses, or are taken before you can get a job teaching in Further Education

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Does this now affect other accademic courses?

This letter of complaint explains what happened.

I am a disabled student who lives with dyspraxia and dyslexia studying on the CELL pathway on the PGCE. I was not consulted about how my access needs were met, which implies that your Disability Equality Duty document is mere lip service for Disabled Students.

Part IV of Disability Discrimination act Further and Higher Education sates that this might include changing examinations procedures, or adapting the physical features of the premises or changing the layout of the classroom to anticipate the needs of students with disabilities.

I was not made aware that we would be expected to use fine motor skills by dropping and dragging objects, working out calculations under a time limit and using a calculator which did not work properly. The most discriminatory part was the aural test which relied on language processing, mental arithmetic and short term memory. Therefore I was unable to state my access needs. I have not decided yet if I am going to take the matter further with the Disability Rights Commission as I am a member of the DRC Advice and Action Group on Neurodiversity and Autism.