newly diagnosed - any nurses or student nurses out there?

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

jaffacake7
New member - welcome them!

newly diagnosed - any nurses or student nurses out there?

Post by jaffacake7 »

Hiya I've just found this forum - I got diagnosed last month and I'm a student nurse. Just wondering if anyone can share any of their stories with me as I failed my last placement and I haven't been getting any support. I got to this point doing really well and then ended up with a mentor who didn't care for students, which is bad enough - but I feel like they've completely failed me! I'm due to qualify next year and just needed to talk to someone who might understand! Thanks :)
Twinky

Re: newly diagnosed - any nurses or student nurses out there?

Post by Twinky »

Hi Jaffacake

I was a midwifery student until December when I withdrew after a 3rd year diagnosis of dyspraxia. The uni were good but in practice I had two mentors who were of the opinion that you can't be a midwife if you are dyspraxic and made it their mission to prove it. I decided to withdraw after passing everything except my delivery suite competencies so I got my degree but not my qualification.

I applied to my hometown uni for Child Nursing and was offered a place and I start in Sept. I will qualify as a nurse and prove that it can be done with or without them ;)

Ask for a new mentor they refused my request for a new mentor for 2nd attempt and that's why I withdrew xxx
clairebear77

Post by clairebear77 »