Support given at university for dyspraxics

Anything to do with studying at University or college, from classes and coursework to classmates and student life

Moderator: Moderator Team

Samuel.eats.grass
New member - welcome them!

Support given at university for dyspraxics

Post by Samuel.eats.grass »

Hi, I'm in my third year of an Honours degree in English and Geography. I would like to get other people's experience of the supports (if any) available to dyspraxics at your university. This is for my own interest, not a research assignment, I am writing this out of frustration with my own university.

The supports available to me are as follows:
-A laptop
-10 minutes per hour in examinations.
-I'm meant to have a special chair for my exams because of back problems due to low muscle tone but it never happens.
-Special stickers for my exams to let the corrector know that I have a specific learning difficultly and to assess the content of my work rather than the mechanics of it.
-Separate center where I sit my exams by myself because me typing my exams up would be distracting for others and I wouldn't be able to concentrate with others anyway.
-I'm meant to have access to a personal tutor but this never happens, I have tried to contact the person in charge of this but they never get back to me.
-A dictaphone to record lectures which is good but some lecturers won't let me and I need my laptop to use it which is very heavy.
-Access to an Assistive Technology lab exclusively for people with specific learning difficulties (it's small and the opening hours are irregular and inadequate at times).