Car Insurance? Higher probability of accidents?

Learning to drive, driving, and using public transport

Moderator: Moderator Team

freida74
Getting settled in

Car Insurance? Higher probability of accidents?

Post by freida74 »

Hi

I'm a newbie - not yet diagnosed and I'm a driver. I've had a couple of accidents - both at slow speed and being unable presumably to correctly assess the correct distance and speed and not react quick enough to stop before going into the back of the person in front.
I'm wondering if this is connected to my possibly being a dyspraxic?

So I'm not officially diagnosed - this is something that has literally been flagged up this week by my uni tutor due to problems with structuring my work.

What I'm wondering is - those who have had trouble learning to drive - have you had increased traffic accidents or incidents of loss of confidence because of these problems?

Also if this is an issue for dyspraxic drivers does it affect your insurance? Is it something that needs to be declared?
I'm wondering if getting diagnosed would actually be a hindrance rather than a benefit?
ALADDIN
Power poster

Re: Car Insurance? Higher probability of accidents?

Post by ALADDIN »

I think it is more likely to affect dyspraxic, but getting a diagnosis can explain your problems.

Your accidents maybe connected to your undiagnosed dyspraxia.

I would not advise telling the DVLA, because they will do thorough assessments, they make take away your licence.
Jim
Super poster

Post by Jim »

Well, presumably you passed your driving test, so the DVLA assessed you as safe to drive?

Personally I think the fact that you've had accidents in the past and hence a reason to claim on your policy will have more of a bearing on your insurance costs than being Dyspraxic. I don't ever recall having to disclose Dyspraxia on a insurance policy and nor did I when I was learning to drive.