Which form of transport do you find the best?

Learning to drive, driving, and using public transport

Moderator: Moderator Team

meow
Regular Poster

Which form of transport do you find the best?

Post by meow »

I was wondering who on this fourm rides a bike, and who drives a car (or both) and which one people find easier.

I'm trying to work out which one would be the best for me. I'm worried about riding a bike because of the balancing aspect, but I'm worried about driving cars because I'm not very good at judging spaces and spacial awareness. I know it's different for everyone, I just wanted peoples opnions.
ishi
Getting settled in

Re: Which form of transport do you find the best?

Post by ishi »

I cycle quite a bit, partly because i can't drive yet!

I think it really depends on where you live. For me I start work at eight, or if I'm going to uni then it's about the same time. Anyway there are very few people about and cars so it's fine if I sway all over the place.

If you live in a big city then it may not be a good idea :bike:
Evasura
Power poster

Post by Evasura »

I find the best transport is bike if you can ride it. I was lucky as a child that I grew up in an area where learning to ride was easy. I spent my childhood falling off the bike bruising my knees, elbows, etc until I mastered it (though despite of all the practice I never managed to ride without hands until I had done yoga for a while, which helped me with balance and still not too well).

Benefits:
1. With a bike you don't depend on public transport, which is a nightmare (also working timetables out - no!)
2. you exercise and build up your muscles (not only legs! arms and abs work as well!)
3. you practice your balance
5. you don't need to put fuel (h8 fuel stations)
6. it's nearly for free
7. it releases serotonine, which makes you feel better
8. it makes you feel free and independent.

Difficulties: